Banana Bread Blondies Review!

So, if you have been to my house at all, you can probably guess that I love to bake. I enjoy having things on hand and often keep baked goods in my freezer, but then I bake more treats so that I don’t have to use up what’s in my freezer… It’s not yet a problem, but maybe one day it will be? Or I need an intervention. I’m good with either. 

Along with my baking, I am also a chocolate fanatic. I have 2 of 3 kids that are choco-crazy, and one that prefers to be different. Finding recipes that I am excited to make and that he is excited to eat is pretty tricky sometimes. I like to throw cocoa powder around like it’s the salt over Rachel Ray’s shoulder, but when it comes to my oldest, the powder stays away. 
I also get tired of making muffins. I think I’ve made every kind of muffiny-cupcake there is. Today I looked at my perfectly brown banana and frowned, dreading whipping it into another muffin recipe only to hear “it’s not my favourite, mom.” (How polite is he?!) 

That brought me to envisioning blondies. I’m a huge brownie fan, so this was natural. However, I have never before used a banana in a blondie recipe. Thanks to Google, I found a recipe that I liked and got to work right away! Click below for the original recipe:

Banana Bread Blondies

Unless I have company coming over, I make my own healthier substitutions to a recipe. For this one, I used

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

1 egg

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup coconut sugar

1 med-large banana, mashed well

1 cup white flour

1.5 tsp cinnamon 

100 grams Chocolates By Bernard Callebaut milk chocolate morsels (half of the tin). 

I combined all ingredients in one bowl, stirring after each addition. In a parchment lined pie plate (rip off a chunk and shove it on the plate, that’s how I do it) I baked my Blondies at 350 for 30 minutes. Once out of the oven, I heavily sprinkled it with Chocolates By Bernard Callebaut milk chocolate shavings and chocolate sprinkles. 

This recipe was SO easy to make (especially because i skipped the frosting!) and is quite delicious too. Even though I did not use butter, it has a buttery taste, and the hint of sea salt is delightful. My pie plate is already half empty – likely because every time I slice a piece for my son’s lunch box, I end up eating it. 

My favourite addition to this recipe is the chocolate morsels. They are larger than chocolate chips, and I find they make more of a statement. I will definitely be using them in this recipe again! They cannot be left out. 


Thanks to Chocolates By Bernard Callebaut in Red Deer and these Banana Bread Blondies, I now have another vanilla baked good recipe!….and also a tummy ache. A large tummy ache. 
Happy baking, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Bread Blondies Review!

  1. Ashley says:

    mmm these sound yummy! I’m the same way with baking – a freezer of plenty but always wanting to bake something else!

    • The struggle is real!! And so is my waistline. Just started counting calories today to help me be accountable to myself. I’m glad you don’t have to worry about that right now! Lucky lady.

Leave a Reply

